Skip to main content

Hey there I am an upcoming freshman with a very busy summer that is taking a toll on my knees and body. I am the starting catcher for my high school's JV summer team, and we play Thursday,Friday,Saturday, and Sunday each week. We also have Lifting followed by practice on Tuesdays. I also play football as a LineBacker and we have Lifting/Conditioning/Practice on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. This is very strainious on my knees. What can I do to get (and keep) them feeling fresh. Specificaly it is a dull ache right in the middle of both knees. They crack and pop as I squat and it is very painful. How do I fix this.

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

RaiderCatcher,

Sorry for the late reply, Since you are very active playing football and baseball, you need to perform general maintenance on yourself, with soft tissue work and mobility, to keep your muscles fresh and mobile, because over time when you go go go and don't address your limitations and take care of your body, your body will put on the brakes on for you via injury, pain etc.

I highly recommend you purchase a foam roller or if you want more pressure, get a PVC and tape it, it's cheaper and more intense then a foam roller. Also go to your local dicks, sports authority and grab 3 lacrosse balls, you ll have one and you are going to tape the other two together.

Once you get these items, let me know and I'll show you things you can do with them. Hope this helps
Originally Posted by RaiderCatcher: