Skip to main content

I need some ideas on how to increase my attendance, especially from my student body. This is my first year at this school and from what I hear not many people come to the games other than parents of the kids. Have any of you tried any special promotions or anything like that? I'm open to hearing any ideas. Thanks in advance.
Last edited {1}
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

1. Network with the other coaches & teachers. Ask the cheerleader/ drill team/color guard sponsors (Faculty) to draw up signs with the schedule & post in hallways. And spirit flyers with the upcoming weeks games. Have a nice schedule & team pic printed to display in local merchants windows, banks, library, all busineses. We did a pocket size schedule to pass out at same, and had stacks of them in the reception office, school library, cafeteria, etc. on campus.
2. Each week, have a couple players( Varsity & JV) make an announcement (included in "schools mornng announcements" starting a couple days before & the morning of game day.
3. Have the Journalism teacher send a photographer & writer out for every game, to work in pressbox & take shots of players. Action Pics are good to use on next weeks flyers.
4. Make sure the school newspaper prints a story every publication. Feature stories on specific players, etc., as well as game stories, & have someone of your boosters to post a story on your school website. Send stories to District office for broadcast email to all school in your district, and parents. Send stories to your local newspaper, etc.
5. Offer free hot dogs once in a while. or discount on Spirit t-shirts on a specific date.
6. Have a "Mom are free night". Do Something special for Mother's day (flower bouquet, or chocolate kisses, etc)
7. Have someone from Choir sign National Anthem every game!! That really gets folks out.
8. School Mascot helps get folks in the spirit.
9. Principal, Vice Principals, Teachers should all be coming.