Skip to main content

Greetings,

My son, a 2020 RHP, received the following email from an assistant coach at a school that was present at a showcase my son attended this past summer. A few days before the showcase, my son emailed a different coach at this school, but that coach never wrote back and my son did not interact with any coach from this school at the showcase. I believe the showcase prepared player evaluations that it gave to the attending coaches. Now this email appears out of the blue. What do you all think? Interest? Level of interest? Thanks.

[Son's First Name],

I hope all is well with you. My name is ***** ***** and I am an assistant baseball coach at ***** University. After reviewing some of your information, I feel that you may be a fit for our program.

***** University is a top academic institution in the U.S., and is currently ranked ***** by US News . On the field, our program advanced to the ***** playoffs in ***** and *****.

Please feel free to explore ***** University and our baseball program by clicking on the two links below. Also, please send over any video footage, unofficial transcripts, and test score reports that you may have if you are interested in our program.

I look forward to hearing back from you!

[Coach]

juerg

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

You don’t start passing valuable personal information (transcripts, test scores) until you’re having live discussions.

They purchased the mailing list for the event and placed your son in their database. You will be receiving invites to all their money making camps.

Last edited by RJM
RJM posted:

You don’t start passing valuable personal information (transcripts, test scores) until you’re having live discussions.

They purchased the mailing list for the event and placed your son in their database. You will be receiving invites to all their money making camps.

This is a high academic D3 - they don't have any camps.