Skip to main content

So I have a situation. Our baseball season starts the last day of Feb. or the first day of Mar. and im trying to get ready for the season by lifting and running. Our field house is open everyday after school and our baseball coach runs the workouts. Football players and a few baseball players go. He is a assiant football coach as well as the head baseball coach. I think the workout is more of a football players workout (I did it two years ago.)

I have a memebership at the YMCA, which has alot nicer equipment than our field house. I can do my workout (which is a baseball players workout that I think really helps me) with out anybody getting on to me and I can do it on my own time.

Alot of you people might say, while you need someone to be watching you when you lift and I disagree to that. I have been lifting for 3+ years now. I use to workout with a guy who is playing college baseball now. I know what im doing when it comes to lifting. The only thing is I am afraid its going to hurt my chances of pt when season rolls around because Coach didn't see me working during the offseason. But that guy I use to lift with that is playing college baseball now never lifted at our field house or with our coach. He did all of his working out at the YMCA and started every game his junior and senior season and got a scholarship.

So what you think, should I keep doing my thing or start going with coach?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

The answer is quite simple. You don't have to be mutually exclusive to one or the other. Tell the coach that you are also working out at the YMCA because it has additional equipment that you need. Demonstrate the additional stength that you have gained when you are working out with the coach on a regular basis and he will see that you are making progress.