New NFHS PITCHING RULES

Matt13 posted:
CaCO3Girl posted:

Anyone know this rule...pitcher is on the mound, leans over to look at the catcher sign, glove hand at his waist, pitching hand holding the ball dangling down, pitcher stands up straight..BALK!  Can't have your hand dangling like that, you started your motion.

Yep, the gorilla-arm balk. It used to be that the pitcher couldn't have his pitching arm in front of him at all when he took the sign; now it just can't be moving (swaying, etc.)

6.1.3 SITUATION Q:

With a runner on first, Team A right-handed pitcher is in the set position, bent at the waist and his pitching arm naturally hangs down slightly in front or to the side away from his body. As he looks to the catcher for a signal, a) the pitcher’s arm is stationary or b) the pitching arm rocks slightly from side to side.

RULING: In a), the position of the arm is natural and can be considered by his side in meeting the rule. Any movement would then start the pitch. In b), any movement of the arm is considered the start of the pitching motion and a pitch must be delivered to the plate so this motion results in a balk.

So  if he had his hand behind his back it would have been okay?  What if the ball was in his glove, would that have been okay?...then again that would just let the kid on first steal, so lets go back to the if he's got his hand behind his back is that okay?

CaCO3Girl posted:
Matt13 posted:
CaCO3Girl posted:

Anyone know this rule...pitcher is on the mound, leans over to look at the catcher sign, glove hand at his waist, pitching hand holding the ball dangling down, pitcher stands up straight..BALK!  Can't have your hand dangling like that, you started your motion.

Yep, the gorilla-arm balk. It used to be that the pitcher couldn't have his pitching arm in front of him at all when he took the sign; now it just can't be moving (swaying, etc.)

6.1.3 SITUATION Q:

With a runner on first, Team A right-handed pitcher is in the set position, bent at the waist and his pitching arm naturally hangs down slightly in front or to the side away from his body. As he looks to the catcher for a signal, a) the pitcher’s arm is stationary or b) the pitching arm rocks slightly from side to side.

RULING: In a), the position of the arm is natural and can be considered by his side in meeting the rule. Any movement would then start the pitch. In b), any movement of the arm is considered the start of the pitching motion and a pitch must be delivered to the plate so this motion results in a balk.

So  if he had his hand behind his back it would have been okay?  What if the ball was in his glove, would that have been okay?...then again that would just let the kid on first steal, so lets go back to the if he's got his hand behind his back is that okay?

Where the ball is is irrelevant. The arm can be at his side, behind his back, or hanging motionless in front.

Add Reply

Likes (0)
×
×
×
×