I just pulled up my 2009 copy of the NFHS baseball rules, which I don't look at enough. It's basically OBR except that the starter only has to go 4 instead of 5 for a win, unless its a run rule, then he only needs to go three.
Section 9 is for scoring. To answer your specific question: ART. 6 . . . Winning and losing pitchers are determined as follows: a. If the starting pitcher has pitched the first four innings or more and his team is ahead when he is replaced and the team holds the lead for the remainder of the game, he shall be the winning pitcher. b. If a game ends for whatever reason, having gone less than seven innings, then the starting pitcher shall have pitched three or more consecutive innings to be declared the winning pitcher. If the starting pitcher cannot be declared the winning pitcher, and more than one relief pitcher is used, the winning pitcher shall be determined using the following criteria: 1. If the score is tied, it results in the game becoming a new contest so far as judging who is the winning and losing pitcher. 2. If the starting pitcher is removed before having pitched four or more innings and his team is ahead, the official scorer shall determine the winning pitcher to be the relief pitcher who has been the most effective. 3. If the opposition goes ahead, pitchers up to that time in the game cannot be credited with the win. However, if the pitcher pitching subsequently takes and maintains a lead the remainder of the game, said pitcher is credited with the win. 4. Generally the relief pitcher credited with the win is the pitcher when his team takes the lead and holds it for the rest of the game. However, if the relief pitcher pitches only a short while or not effectively and a succeeding relief pitcher replaces him and does better work in keeping the lead, the latter shall be granted the win. c. If a pitcher is removed for a pinch-hitter or a pinch-runner, the runs scored by his team during the inning of his removal are to be credited to his benefit to decide the pitcher of record. d. The starting pitcher shall be charged with the loss when he is replaced and his team is behind or falls behind because of runs assessed to him after being replaced and his team does not subsequently tie the score or take the lead. e. A pitcher cannot be given credit for pitching a shutout when he does not pitch the complete game except when he enters the game with no one out before the opponents have scored in the first inning and does not permit the opposition to score during the game.
ART. 7 . . . In order for a pitcher to be credited with a save, he shall meet all three of the following criteria: a. he is the last pitcher in a game won by his team; and b. he is not the winning pitcher; and c. he meets at least one of the following: 1. he enters the game with a lead of not more than three runs and pitches at least one inning; or 2. he enters the game regardless of the count on the batter with the potential tying run either on base, at bat or on deck; or 3. he pitches effectively for at least three innings. 4. A starting pitcher who is replaced and then re-enters as pitcher can be credited with a win but not a save.
The 2018 Rulebook reads the exact same as what JMOFF posted.
As for MIKEDB’s question, as the dad of a pitcher, it kills me to say that the starter doesn’t get the win, but even in a shortened game, one inning of work doesn’t pass muster. From there it is very subjective. The win goes to “the relief pitcher who has been the most effective.” Just looking at the info you provided (not knowing if the 5 runs credited to the first reliever are earned, etc), it would appear that reliever two allowed no runs in his 2 innings of work and should get the win. This is applying High School rules to a middle school game, but the W/L/S rules should be similar.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .