Skip to main content

Parents of Pitchers: I'm new at what you do (and have done). Acutely aware of my lack of insight, I sought wisdom from my elders here at HSBBW and, in my quest, I found the highlighted text below from The Official Sage, Swampboy.  

And lo, I have taken solace in his wisdom. He knows whereof I feel. Perhaps, though, I should have also sought percipience from Tim the Enchanter (who knows much that is hidden) because last night, during my son's league championship semifinal, I found myself unmoored and adrift in a distressing and cloying sea of miasmic brine. How do I get out of the brine and stay out?

My son came in in relief with no outs in the bottom of the fifth. Men on first and second. His team had been ahead 6-0 but the opposing team (and tournament top seed) had just gone single, walk, wild pitch, single, single, to make it 6-2. Momentum had suddenly shifted, as they say.

Then this happened: sac bunt, but bunter reaches first on catcher's throwing error. Now bases loaded, no outs. Catcher's interference, run scores (6-3), bases still loaded, no outs. K, K, Passed Ball, run scores (6-4), other runners advance. HBP (so bases loaded again). Finally, K for third out.

The next two innings were equally discombobulating, though not as statistically dramatic.  He ended up with the save, which I realize is one of the black columns of the ledger and should make me happy. Which it did. Sorta.

I have never felt the way I did while I was watching those three innings.  I was possessed by an ungodly mix of dread, fear, hope, and satisfaction, all at the SAME time.

Any specific suggestions on how to manage this state?