Skip to main content

My son is only in his second year of high school baseball, so I'm no expert on this. All this politcal stuff is beyond me. I havent heard this at our school, and from what I can tell, our best nine are playing. Of course I dont go to practice and see whats going on, but there doesnt seem to be anything blatantly unfair going on. I heard of a neighboring school where a parent donated an Iron Mike pitching machine in the fall, and the boy was cut in the spring.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

quote:
I have heard that because of lack of state funding some schools charge for hs sports

You're right. We have to pay a fee of $300. Everyone pays once the team is selected. Has nothing to do with playing time - it has to do with getting a uniform. The money pays for umpires, security guard (required by law), bus drivers and gas for away games, etc. But it's pretty easily covered by sponsorships (Outfield banners, ads in the media guide, etc.) so very few parents pay all of it out of their pockets, and most get their share completely covered. No one pays more - I don't think any of our parents have the kind of cash that it would take to "buy" playing time.

Would they if they did, and would it work? We share a field with the football team. If someone were to donate the land and build us a new facility, and just happened to have a marginal player, who knows? If I were the coach, I might find a unie for him, but he wouldn't be a starter unless he earned it. The school administration might force the issue and take it out of the coach's hands, which is another story altogether.
Last edited by 2Bmom
Pardon me if I wasn't clear. We do have a fee at the beginning of the season for uniforms, umpires etc. etc. However, that fee is not volunatry or arbitrary and has nothing to do with playing time. If you make the team, you pay.