Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I have no direct experience with this showcase... I held off enrolling my son because of the high price, the fact that no top HA players I knew attended, and the coaches are not known in the area for having top players in the program.  On a recruiting trip with my son I asked an Ivy coach how this showcase got all the Ivy's to attend... he said matter-of-factly the coaches are paid to go.  What was funny/interesting is that he didn't even pretend that he went there to find players...

mom2baseballplayer posted:

That is interesting. What does HA stand for in your post? Was your recruiting trip to visit a school upon an invite or to go to a showcase? 

HA = High Academic... i.e., the players that target Ivy and other top academic D3 schools.  The recruiting trip I referred to was to a school my son was invited to visit, meet the coaches and tour the facilities.

Aren't the coaches paid to be at most of these showcases?  I thought they were paid to be at Headfirst/Showball, etc? I'm not advocating for this particular "showcase". Just saying collecting a paycheck is normal.