Skip to main content

No sour grapes as we won a close one vs. close rival, but I just want to understand the rule.

We had runners on 1/3 with 1 out.  Pitcher is in stretch.

Batter in box.  Pitcher stays in set position, but has been varying time of being set.  No issue here.

He stays set for extended period.  Our batter calls for time, and starts to step back out of box.  Time WAS NOT granted.  Pitcher starts  motion to home, but stops after stepping home and does not throw.

Ump rules that batter backing out of batters box caused pitcher to stop motion.  No balk called.

Correct?  I didn't think so. I can see that this would open a can of worms though......

“I don’t scratch my head unless it itches and I don’t dance unless I hear some music. I will not be intimidated. That’s just the way it is.”

Last edited by russinfortworth
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Add Reply

Link copied to your clipboard.