Need some info.
A friend of ours has a gifted son (HS Fr) that can pitch either LHP or RHP effectively. In a game last Friday, he got 2 strikes on a good batter as an RHP, then to win the mental game, he switched his glove around (it is an ambidextrious glove) and pitched a 3rd strike (swinging) as an LHP.
The umpire called "no pitch" and ruled it a "ball." The ump claimed that a pitcher cannot switch once he starts on a batter by UIL (Texas) rules.
This defies logic since it penalizes talent. Sort of like outlawing switch hitting. Is this true?