Skip to main content

Hey I am sorry if this has already been a thread but I am wondering if a Stalker Sport 2 gun is good for videos to get kids recruited. I am a coach and ask this because whenever I see my guys on a jugs its 2-3 MPH faster. I know this jump is not going to make all the difference but just want to give my guys the best chance. I have a Varsity kid now who sits at 83-85 on a stalker but on a jugs he is 85-87... I have a feeling the 83-85 is more accurate so just want to get your thoughts on if I should do their videos on a jugs or a stalker? 

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I should mention my radar gun is the Stalker Sport 2. I have not heard anything from actual owners of the pocket radar. It appears some guns are fine for larger objects at a distance (car), but not for smaller (baseball) even when standing behind the pitcher. Not only did I have my kid complain about the speed the gun was reading, but also his pitching coach said it was off who is a retired MLB 11 Year Pitcher.

I used to have a Juggs gun.  Used it many times next to the Stalker Pro guns.  Never was it more than 1 or 2 mph off.  Sometimes it read higher than the Stalker, sometimes it read lower than the Stalker.  I think it was more of a rounding issue than different readings.

I have also seen the pocket radar units.  The only problem with them is timing.  You have to hit the button at the right time.  When they were used correctly, they were pretty much spot on with the Stalkers.  What I would do with these is get a general range that falls in line.  If you have any outliers, either way lower or way higher, ignore them - it was probably user error.