Skip to main content

As a summer/fall baseball coach, I have obviously experienced many different views from parents and players as far as expectations of summer/fall programs.

My intentions of this thread is to ask..........

What are things that parents/players look for in a summer/fall baseball program?

I am more interested in a players point of view on this topic but realize these players probably don't play on here like us "grown ups" do. So parents, give us your $.02.

I have some comments to make on this topic but will wait with expectations on what I think will be posted.

Looking forward to various responses.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

What I want to see:

First and foremost - Playing the toughest competition that can be found.

Teaching the team the fine points they need to make it to the next level.

Making some attempt to balance the team's needs vs. individual development. Realizing this is always a balancing act.

Fairness in the lineups and batting order. This implies that is has some basis in stats.

Well designed, efficient practices.

A well disciplined organization (e.g., good pre-game warmup routine, post-game analysis, communication, etc.).

Good communications between the coaches and players and parents.

-----------
What I do NOT expect:

Teaching fundamentals. The players should bring these to a top tier select team and not need to be taught them.

Any certain W-L record. Play the toughest competition, play good ball & let the chips fall where they may.

Expensive uniforms.

Travel for the sake of travel.
Last edited by Texan
I think it depends on what age you are talking about. Each age group should be different expectations. My son is in high school (senior) I ask him what he expected of fall and summer baseball. His answer: exposure, competition,as many at bats as possible, but mostly as much exposure as possible.

A 10 or 11 year old would probably response much differently.
In a perfect world, I would prefer: