Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

quote:
Originally posted by Bulldog 19:
Swimmers also have a lot of overuse shoulder problems...

Swimming is great, but I think the above is an issue. Swimming is another overhead arm motion that I think might put a little much use on the pitching arm. I think they get enough of that during the season.

I'm no expert on it, just seems to me like that is something I would be concerned about.
quote:
Originally posted by Texas1836:
You do not have to use your arms to swim. My boy swam with a club but does not anymore due to time constraints. Use flippers and keep your arms at your side. Using legs and body to swim can still be a great, maybe better, workout.

Haha. I'm not sure that technically qualifies as "swimming" then Texas. Maybe/kinda. Call it water activities rather than swimming.
bballman - Understand, but for workouts, the little squirts had to do this.

I am nowhere near the top levels of baseball and do not know why folks want to swim other than as Bishop said for conditioning. If a kid is only looking for aerobic conditioning/stamina, then they can do it without arms.

I had thought that swimming would be good for my boy if he continues in baseball because it works the heck out of your body and can be used year-round. Then I read that a lot of swimming can be hard on shoulders so I thought maybe not, except as I have described.

As I have posted several times, bleachers are a very good workout. Go hard for two or three minutes, rest for 30 seconds, repeat until you are heaving. Gym bleachers in the winter if there is ice outside.