Skip to main content

So my freshman son is done with his three day tryout that started Monday. They post the names and to his surprise they kept all 21 freshman that tried out. This includes a kid who got sick after the first day and did not show up to tryouts the second and third day and did not call. It includes a kid who signed up for tryouts and then decided he did not want to play and never showed up to tryouts at all and a kid who wants to pitch and threw up a whopping fastball that the stalker says was moving at 44mph. I understand keeping a couple of freshman who may develop in a year or two but WOW!
The varsity is very good and son will be playing with them thankfully.
I'm not a baseball expert but I play one by pretending to be on HSBBW
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Welcome to high school baseball. The rules of engagement are 1) help your son succeed, 2) root for the team (that includes his teammates) and 3) never disparage one of his teammates. It's a TEAM. You pull for everyone in the program at every level. If you have the need to break down skills or personalities do it privately with someone you trust who will never make your comments public.

Were you at practice over the coach's shoulder to see the Stalker? When I ask my son what pitchers are hitting on the Stalker he says he never knows what other pitchers speeds are in tryouts and practice.
Last edited by RJM
RJM- I saw the kid throw the last two or three minutes of practice (I was picking up my son, my son was keeping stats on potential pitchers at the time) This is not at all the point. The point is I worry about a program that is not paying enough attention to realize they gave a roster spot to a kid who was never even there and does not want to play and laughed when he found out they mistakenly added him.