Skip to main content

A coach at a top SEC D1 is offering a recruited walk on spot saying that he has no money. Their starting 3rd baseman, 2nd baseman, catcher, an outfielder and a closer are all walk ons, I do not know who was left to get all the money, but that is what I am told.

A coach at a top D2 (highly ranked) is offering a 100% tuition leaving me room and board out of my pocket.

The D1 coach says that I am crazy to not take his offer and that playing in a top D2 will be like playing JUCO ( I am a JUCO Sophomore ). The D1 coach says that my chances of getting drafted for more money will be much better at his program than at the top D2. I know that there are many scouts at the D2 school regularly.

Is there any good reason to consider the D1 offer.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

IMO, you cannot compare any top D2 program to any SEC program. The SEC is one of if not the strongest conference in college baseball.
If you have pro potential you will be drafted, the difference is where you go most likely may get you drafted higher. That should be a consideration if that is what is your goal.
However, regardless, your decision should be based upon where you will be more comfortable, which place is the right fit, which school offers the major you are looking for (remember that is important too) regardless of the division.
Don't feel insulted that you were asked to walk on, regardless of whether you receive scholarship money or not, you still have to earn your playing time.
Brn2Hit - interesting but nice problem to have.

The SEC coach is probably telling you the truth. Many of the top programs have much of their money tied up in pitching and after that in a few of their star hitters. Although this offer seems tempting, there is more risk involved about how much playing time you would get.