Skip to main content

This player is currently 14 years old (15 in November). He's about 5'9" tall and around 160lbs...

I'll share some additional information about this hitter once people have had a chance weigh in.

Any thoughts?

Jason

P.S. This swing resulted in a double over the left fielders head.
Last edited {1}
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I like the swing alot....

Posture fairly upright, but the pitch is high, so it's good......Weight shift momentum is very good.....Nice connection....Looks like he is powering from the middle and using his front leg properly....

My guess is he had to wait a bit on the pitch....A little slower than anticipated.....Probably a good adjustment keeping his front foot in the air a little longer.....
Last edited by BlueDog
quote:
Originally posted by TPBulldogs35:
I'm no professional but I was always taught by my coaches and every coach I've ever known to keep my head as still as possible. Look where his starts and ends up.

I think you should be looking at head movement only from the time his front foot plants (pre-swing). Looks real quiet once the swing begins... I like this swing also...
1. Doesn't maintain BOX
2. Bat drag
3. More pulling, hands get in front of rotation.
4. push stroke

I'll not mention the style with stance which I do think affects his ability to be as efficient as he could.

Tough clip for me to see if bat is perpendicular to spin. So no comment there as well.

I counted 6 frames to contact once his foot plants but the bat drag could actually want to make you add more frames.
Dog, sorry. I've been super busy and not around computer much.

Big Al Kaline. I enjoyed watching him.