Skip to main content

I am currently a Sophomore, and I'm the Captain of my school's JV Baseball Team. I've been emailing a few coaches, and telling them about my interest for their school, and baseball program. I play on an elite travel team in the fall, and summer. We play in Dynamic Baseball tournaments, at many college campuses around Virginia, and other neighboring states. I play legion ball as well. What can I do to get my name on the radar, and get some interests from college coaches? Any suggestions for a Sophomore?

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

DynamicBaller,

You are asking the right questions, and doing the right things. 

Getting on a high exposure travel team is a great start.  As you are getting closer to your junior year it is important to really think about the type of college  you want to attend.  This will have a dramatic effect on the types of programs that you reach out to let them know you are interested.  Dynamic events & showcases are geared toward Division 1 schools.  Legion baseball is geared toward local schools. So, your current exposure level is D1 around Virginia and local colleges.  By my count, your exposure plan would get you in front of a dozen or so colleges and many of those are in the ACC.  That is some very "tough sledding", but if you have that national talent level -- go for it.