Skip to main content

Son called in a men's baseball league. Runners on second and third, one out. Fly out to left. Both runners tag and runner on second gets to third on the late throw to the plate. Appeal at second, and the runner is called out. Does the run score?

What levels does it?
What levels does it not?
Rule # also.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Mrumpire is correct, even though it looks like a force, the play at second is a live ball appeal. Remember the definition of a force, a runner being forced to advance because the BR becomes a runner. It is a timing play and the run scores. This is a commonly misunderstood rule and is called incorrectly many times all over the country. The important thing is to learn and hopefully educate guys in your area not to make the same mistake.

By the way, Welcome to the board. This is a good place to learn from some good umpires and not a flame area.

Add Reply

Link copied to your clipboard.