Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

No run can score on a play where the 3rd out is made (including on appeal) by either: 1) The batter/runner before he has reached 1st base, or; 2) A runner who is being forced to his next base. Otherwise, it's a time play.

I don't know the rule number.

In your case, the batter/runner is out for passing for the 3rd out, but he had reached 1st base, so any runs scoring before his out will count.
Last edited by dash_riprock
Fed Case Book 9.1.1 Situation M (condensed): With R1 at second base and R2 at first base and two outs, B5 hits a home run out of the park. While running the bases B5 passes R2 at first. Ruling: B5 is declared out. R1 and R2 will be awarded home and allowed to score due to the award from the home run. B5's out is not a "force out" so the other runs will count.
Originally posted by BrandonWilson:
Only one run can score on this play. The B/R reached first base, but was declared out before he was able to legally obtain second base. So, all other runners are only allowed to advance one base. Runner on second is only advanced to third base, regardless if he has crossed the plate or not.

Dash is correct. This is a time play Two runs score.

Add Reply

Link copied to your clipboard.