Skip to main content

New to the forum. Had our first game of year tonight. Had an umpire advise our first pitcher that when in the stretch,, as he came to the set position, he bounced slightly,  and that this was a balk. I disagree.
As this pitcher comes to the set position from taking the sign, he does bounce or bend his knee a couple of times, then he becomes set, pauses,  the delivers the baseball. I don't think this is a balk, is it ?
I see a lot of college ball and a lot of the pitchers do the same. Just need some help in ruling as I can not find any rule specifics for this. We do follow NFHS Baseball Rules.
Thanks for any help.

Coach Wes
Last edited by Coach Wes
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Lefthookdad,  he's actually going from the stretch with a runner on base, not a wind up. As he is coming to the set position, he bounces or bends his knees as he settles into a set position. His front foot doesn't come up. He then comes to a complete stop, pauses, then delivers the pitch. There is no motion toward the plate or the base (s) the runners are occupying.  He's basically settling in to the set position.  The umpire claimed that it was movement or motion and that constituted a balk.
Originally Posted by Coach Wes:
Lefthookdad,  he's actually going from the stretch with a runner on base, not a wind up. As he is coming to the set position, he bounces or bends his knees as he settles into a set position. His front foot doesn't come up. He then comes to a complete stop, pauses, then delivers the pitch. There is no motion toward the plate or the base (s) the runners are occupying.  He's basically settling in to the set position.  The umpire claimed that it was movement or motion and that constituted a balk.

I would hope he is in the stretch with a runner on base....   Umpires and balk calls are always tough to figure out....as it seems like a lot of them don't understand it.  Our best one ever....my son was 12 playing in a top level tourney (MLB rules).  Our head coach....and asst both had pitched in the majors.  An umpire (probably 20ish) had called 2 balks which were both completely botched calls.  After our HC questioned the 2nd one, the umpire turns around...and says....loud enough for all of our parents to hear "we're playing major league rules....I know what I'm doing"....  The roar of laughter from our parents/players was deafening.  Our coaches looked at each other....laughed...and let the game go on...never saying a word...

 

Add Reply

Post
.
×
×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×