Originally posted by BGross:
Yesterday I was scoring for my son's JV game and noticed that a player substitution was not reported to me. After the first pitch, I informed the coach of the infraction and he inturn reported it to the umpire. After some discussion, the player was called out and the inning ended. During the course of the teams changing, the umpire came to me and stated that the infraction was considered batting out of order. I now need to know who is credited with the out and how it will appear in the scorebook....by the way, I am taking the assist.
You had a dumber-than-dirt umpire who needs serious re-training before being allowed to work HS, or even LL, games again.
1..This was an unreported substitute, NOT batting out of order. There is no penalty for an unreported sub.
2..If this was a BOO situation, as soon long as the batter is still at bat, there is no penalty. He is replaced by the proper batter, who assumes the count on the improper batter.
3..Give the out to umpire's stupidity. And a scorekeeper cannot be given an assist in the book. Only a "Thank you" from the coach.