Two situations that occurred in today's game
1. Big rally underway for us. 4 hitter comes up and drives ball off his foot. Ball never bounces, just squirts toward third. Hitter grabs foot. Third basemen picks up ball, throws to first for the out. Rally dead. PU calls ball fair, BU "Did not see it" (I have heard this alot lately when calls have gone against us). The ground in front of the plate is rock hard, so the ball should have shot into the air if it would have missed the foot. Is there no allowance for logic and the laws of physics in a case like this, or do we just have to deal with it?
2. Runner at first, ball hit to SS, who fires low to first, and the ball finds a stupid hole and skids out of play. Runner at first was nearly to third when the ball went out of play, and would have easily scored. Runner was sent back to third after crossing the plate. Does this come under the "Baserunning Awards Table" under #5 on two bases (batter and runners) p. 52 of the current NFHS rule book. I ask because when I asked for clarification I was told that it was clearly a 1 and 1 situation. It would appear to be two bases from the pitch, which would have been far less confusing.
Sorry about the long post. Thank you for any help.