Other night my guy singles to RF and is on base. The other team Pitcher and 1B come together then separate - I think nothing of it because it was quick. Pitcher engages the rubber and my guy takes his lead. All of a sudden the 1B tags him and starts celebrating. After it sank in what they did I said that it was a balk. Umps talked for a second and we did get the call with my runner getting second.
1. Is this actually a balk or would it fall under the illegal pitch rule?
2. After listening to some of the fans behind me talk about how it was the wrong call I was thinking that the Pitcher doesn't have to be engaged with the rubber for this to be illegal but not sure. Is it 3 feet from the rubber / on the dirt for this to be illegal?
You could tell these kids came up with it on their own and I give them props for doing that on their own. But as the other coach I'm glad they didn't know the rule LOL