Skip to main content

If no one has come across this video, here you go:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4MnpzG5Sqc

As a college student I am privy to a lot of the "mainstream" news that is thrown around through my demographic. The majority of "news" that I see thrown around is nonsense (aka: shows like Jersey Shore, etc.).

I have never in my entire life witnessed the amount of attention this video has gotten from people my age. I heard a rumor it has already set the record for "Likes" on YouTube in a 24 hour span and has 5 worldwide "trends" on Twitter right now. I'm logged onto my Facebook page and there are currently 54 people that I am "friends" with that shared this link, at nearly 1 AM here in New York.

I know all of this social media attention hasn't caught onto being "mainstream" throughout much of the world, but this is exactly what the maker of this video intended to happen.

Thoughts?
Last edited {1}
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Josh, thank you so much for sharing this. I am ashamed to say I didn't know who Joseph Kony was, though of course I had heard of some of his deeds (in mostly abstact ways that didn't resonate the way this video does). I have shared the video on FB, and will sign the pledge and get the kit.

Again, I really appreciate that you brought this to our attention - a great reminder of the incredibly large problems we face in the world today, and of our collective power to demand justice and a stop to evil like this.
When 2013 posted this to his FB wall last night and personally asked me to watch a 27 minute video I must admit that I assumed he had been duped. I couldn't believe what I was watching and I Googled some of the information just to confirm.

Imagine my horror when it was all accurate. I have also shared it on FB and I'm so pleased that it's here, as well.

Thank you for sharing. We all should.