Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

On this site, I quote only NFHS rules. If your area uses NCAA or OBR the answer can differ..

From NFHS rules the answer is yes, they can.

Here is the rule citation:

NFHS rule 3 Section 1 Article 1 (D) NOTE

A substitute has entered the game when the ball is alive and

d. A pitcher takes his place on the pitcher's plate

So since all warm up pitches are taken during a dead ball, the player can be replaced prior to the umpire making the ball alive at the start of the inning without having to pitch to a batter. Only the starting pitcher must pitch to a minimum of one batter before being removed.
Last edited by piaa_ump

Add Reply

Link copied to your clipboard.