A D1 coach told me that academic scholarships, with the exception of federal grants (Pell), are factored into baseball athletic sholarships when computing total baseball scholarship allotment.
As an example, assume the school has $100,000 baseball scholarship available. Player A is offered $10,000 and no academic scholy. Therefore, $90,000 remains. Player B gets $5000 academic and is offered $5000 baseball. Because the amounts must be blended, $80,000 baseball monies remain, not $85,000.
I was told this is an NCAA D1 rule and is applied nationwide.
Did I understand this correctly? Seems weird to me.