Skip to main content

I’m a consultant and flew to Dallas on 9/10. I watched the news from my new work site (1st day with new company) on 9/11 and immediately called home to Atlanta – my wife saw it live and later we learned they “locked down” our schools –no one in or out.

My wife was in a panic and I couldn’t do anything. Work wise – I was expected to produce no matter what. I didn’t get home for two weeks. I never felt so helpless in my life.

I was nervous every day and called home to try to help my family several times a day.

As an aside, a much younger co-worker asked me if I knew the Bible……I think I overwhelmed him with all the material I gave him to read….yeah, I’m one of those people you don’t want to sit next to and ask do you believe in God (LOL).

We can point fingers and try to lay blame at every level, but I will always remember 9/11 as a day that brought the USA together. In truth, I personally don’t like New York City and most of the times I think the Pentagon as being a waste of money.

But, in both cases, they are my brothers and sisters. I can pick on my brothers and sisters but if any one else does the same the “family” will come together and you will be sorry!!!!!

We had a lot of families smashed by what was thrust upon us. I think all of us, directly connected or not, has a 911 scar on them. I know my scar has not healed because I never thought I would feel the pain of war and my children definitely wouldn’t either – naïve or what!!!!!

Let us all take a time to pray and be thankful for our time with our kids, My son went 2 for 3 - great hits, threw 3 runners out and I was pumped – then when I got home I watched history channel……put things in perspective.

I know this post is just a ramble – but to this day, that’s the most I can make out of 911. If you respond, please don’t make this political – he said, she said, he knew, she knew.

Where were you on 911?