Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Which hand does he throw with? I would follow simple guidelines for rest between starts, pitch counts and work with a qualified instructor from time to time to keep his mechanics effective and safe. He would likely have a bright future if he throws strikes, is not over used and enjoys the game.
Last edited by Dad04
MLR,

Welcome to HSBBW. You will find a number of opinions here. Enjoy them and have fun here. This site kept me very entertained while I was in KSA.

I couldn't say much about your son's velocity since I am no expert. From what I hear here, heat is good. And as Dad04 suggests, make sure the kid is getting qualified training from a profe$$ional if he wants to stay healthy.

I sent you a PM.
Last edited by infidel_08
I have several friends who threw 85 at that age. The truth is non of them pitch anymore. A couple still play but their arms are toast. They also had big bats and play college ball but don't pitch anymore. Too many arm problems.
I have seen 16 yo olds throwing 92 but they played out of Detroit and not sure what happened to them. The coach was a pitcher for 15 years with Detroit.
Last edited by BobbleheadDoll
my sons freshmen year i took him to a christmas camp it was just after his 15th birthday his best velo was 84. 84 85 for a 14 year old is quite good but as you will see when you search this site and others it's not as uncommon as you think. every year there seems to be kids that age throwing in the 90s. my son hit the 88 mark 2 months before his 17th bday and has now been to 89 with his sr yr looming. protect your sons arm don't let him abuse it or anyone else. try to get him the best help you can find, one more thing (this is the hard part) try and make him understand the gift he has and what it could bring him in the future
(1) Get a good quality pitching instructor;
(2) Listen to him;