Skip to main content

I am a sophomore in high school. Both captains of my team had off season arm surgery,and therefore I have been "forced" into the role of the ace of the staff. Because of their injuries, our pitching staff is now very thin. This forces the coach to pitch me whenever possible, being the "ace". Throughout the season, I am most likely going to be scheduled to pitch on three days rest several times (including possibly right now, I pitched yesterday and it looks as if I'll be pitching again Monday). I've pitched on three days rest before, but at the varsity level and the stage we're at, I want to make sure my arm is at a good enough level to pitch (and of course pitch well) while not hurting myself like the kids in the years past. In your best opinion, what is the best way to prepare yourself and your arm for a possible start on three days rest?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Don't pitch.
I am sure that you are a fine pitcher, but I would consider you more of the horse instead of the ace.
No level or stage is worth it, you can't let them them use you like that. You won't be pitching come your senior year.
Sorry, not to discourage you, but you should know if you have read all of the many posts here, over use is NOT a good thing.
J H,

I have to agree with Tiger Paw Mom. It sounds like you are being asked to pitch more frequently than what is considered healthy ... because the pitchers who were pitched more frequently than is healthy, are out of commission with arm surgery.

It can be exciting to be thrown into the role of staff ace, and it is possible that you could make it through the year without serious injury, but it would probably catch up with you sometime during your HS career.

Some reputable sites like asmi.org (American Sports Medicine Institute) publish pitch count recommendations - you should read them, show them to your parents, and discuss what is safe for you. A simple rule of thumb for high school pitchers is: