Skip to main content

Hi, I am a freshman baseball player and I am small for my age. I've been working on getting bigger, and in 3 months I've gone from 5'4" 106lbs to 5'6" 120 lbs. I was at a tryout when I weighed around 110 lbs and my 60 yard dash time was a 7.2. That is with official timers and everything. Now, timing it on my own, the best I can get is an 8.3. The weight I have gained has been muscle and not fat because it is from a lot of chicken and muscle shakes and almond butter sandwiches. I also have a very fast metabolism and workout three days a week and hit just about everyday. Could the time be different because I am not using an official timer? Because I also do speed and agility drills. Any help would be appreciated, thank you.

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

BBPlayer29: Welcome to the site. Though you may be a pitcher, from your size I am guessing MI or CF. If you are hoping to play beyond HS, the 60 yard dash will be very important measurable for you. Absent laser timing, you'll see much variation in your times, though the more you run it, you will come up with times "typical for you." Also the more places you run it (unbiased third party), the better chance of reaching your best time, whatever this is. After running one at a showcase or camp, coaches often asked my son what "was a usual time". 

7.2. is a good benchmark time. I am with Freddy in that you can get a large margin of error timing yourself. Also key is to make sure that you are actually running 60 yards. Son used to practice on football/soccer fields as the yard markings were there. Technique also plays a role in the time (bobbing head back, not running straight or through finish will slow one down) . Search this site for other threads. PG staff had a useful article as one of the links that could help you out.

Stay dedicated and keep working hard.