Question regarding a balk situation in Pennsylvania HS Varsity baseball game. 
 
Runner on first base, a balk is called by umpire and pitcher continues making pitch.  The batter makes contact safely for single and runner that was previously at first base moved safely to second base on hit.  Umpire calls dead ball and batter is returned to batters box, with runner previously at first base being allowed to remain at second base. 
 
Q: My contention is that the batter should have been allowed to remain at first base, just as MLB rules would allow?.  
Original Post

in NFHS rules, a balk is a dead ball.  You're correct on the MLB rule.  The play is live and if the batter successfully reaches first, the team has the choice of the balk or the actual play that resulted.  In NFHS, under all circumstances, a balk call immediately becomes a dead ball, so anything that subsequently follows is moot.

Team does not get a "choice of the balk or the actual play that resulted".  The balk is either enforced or it is not.  If all runners, including Batter/Runner advance one base then the balk is NOT enforced and players a liable to be put out trying to advance further.  If there is an out prior to all runners advancing their one base then the balk would be enforced and any play/out would not count.  Example:  Runner at 2nd balk called batter his ball to 3rd and tags the runner coming from 2nd.  BR is safe at 1st.  R2 goes to 3rd on the enforcement and BR comes back to plate.  Same situation (R2).  Balk called batter hits ball to outfield.  R2 thrown out at the plate, BR safe at 1st.  Balk is not enforced and the out stands.

Add Reply

Likes (0)
×
×
×
×