Skip to main content

I will start off by saying I know nothing of catchers gear. I only played first base through college, and never paid attention, lol. My son is now 13 and is catching on a 15u team. Last year he wore the Allstar gear for little league and on his blocks he often felt the pitches in the dirt, the kids are just throwing that hard, and his body hasnt quite caught up. But man can he block a pitch. He was wanting some new gear for the spring and I saw this add on ebay, and we found one in a store. He loved it because it was hard and didnt think he would feel it. Would this be ok to use? Or is there something else that has a hard plate over the chest area. Any help is much appreciated. Here is the ebay link and I have no knowledge of the seller, just using the link. Champro Chest protector
Last edited {1}
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

The chest protector you linked to is designed for umpires, not catchers. It might protect your son well enough, but it doesn't look like the design would allow for the full range of motion that a catcher would need (such as throwing down to 2nd base).

I have two boys (ages 13 & 16) who catch and they both love their All-Star gear. My younger son uses the CP1216APRO (http://all-starsports.com/products.php?prod=24) and the older one just upgraded from the CP28PRO to the CP30PRO (http://all-starsports.com/products.php?prod=20). Both have nothing but high praise for their chest protectors.

I've lurked around on this board for quite a while and have pretty much only read good things about All-Star gear. You didn't say which model chest protector your son was using, but if it's an older one (or designed for younger players) maybe it's just time to upgrade.

Good luck!
This is off topic, but I wish someone had told us when my son was younger to get a good cup. He had to endure a cracked plastic cup before we wised up. He wears a stainless cup now.