Skip to main content

Just made preliminary plans with my son.  He went to Cooperstown as a 12U player.  I was an assistant coach.  He's down to his last three weeks of his freshman year playing in college.  We're planning to take a team next year with the two of us and one of his friends as coaches.  I brought it up tonight for the first time since the week after we were in C-town 7 years ago.  He initially gave me an "are you crazy" look.  Within 10 minutes, he had his friend committed to going as a third coach and actually was talking about "scouting" the local kids to find some kids who will want to go.  As I said, very preliminary, but after seeing him very little since he's started college, it sure seems like a good time.  Has anyone else ever taken a team to C-town with your son?  How'd it go??

Last edited by Buckeye 2015
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Envy you!  Should be a blast.  Have only gone as coach while my kids were playing, and doing that again this summer.  Only suggestion I have is to make sure everyone knows who's in charge of what.  Lessens the potential for conflict.  Other thing to consider: I got in trouble one time with other coaches who thought I was cherry picking their players.  They didn't understand, even though I s-p-e-l-l-e-d it out that I only was asking the kids for this ONE trip (the dates of which were purposely chosen to NOT interfere with anyone else's league or tournament play.

Good luck!!