Summer ball tournament. High School summer teams largely sophmore to juniors.
High school rules. Elimination game.
One out. Man on first. Man on second.
Batter hits very high pop that f2 attempts to field about 10 feet in front of plate. F1 had also moved in on ball but f2 called it and F1 backed off. At least 10 feet between f1 and f2. F2 misses the catch, but touches ball with glove and hand. Spin on ball takes it into foul territory on the hop, f1 retrieves ball but cant get lead runner at third.
Ump signals all safe. Defensive coach argues infield fly should be called and batter called out. Plate ump says no, it would only apply if the pop could have been caught for sure and that it was unclear to ump if f1 or f2 should have caught it. further discussion from coach. Confers with base ump, doesnt chage ruling.
Now, we are talking about a high pop, with catcher camped below it after calling ball. Clearly should have been caught, was scored an error. r1 and r2b as well as all offensive coaches recognized ball as a fly, all runners held. It was only the spin on the ball taking it into foul territory on the bounce that prevented the pitcher from from doubling up the runners. Ball clearly fair for the entirety of its flight. Neither ump ever called "IF" or "infield fly if fair". Seemed clear to all that crew just scrwed up and forgot IF rule was was in effect, then couldnt get past their egos to admit same.
Hope this is clear and all needed info supplied.
What was the correct ruling??