Skip to main content

Let me know your thoughts especially if you are an umpire.

- 10yr old select team. Bases loaded, 1 out. Looping line drive over 2nd base. Shortstop tries to make a play on the ball but drops it. Runner is tagged out at second and the runner at 3rd scores. Keep in mind, the umpires did not call infield fly rule.

Play is dead and the defensive team asks the umpire if it was an infield fly. The home plate umpire confirms with the field umpire and determines it was an infield fly. He calls the batter out and the runner that was tagged out.

My interpretation of the rule should be that since the umpires did not call infield fly rule during the play, they can not go back and determine that it was after the play. Please let me know your thoughts.

Luckily they did allow the runner from 3rd to count and we won the game.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

In general, rules don't cover how to handle umpire mistakes, but there are interpretations.

I don't know what ruleset your game was played under, but here is a high school caseplay:
7.4.1 SITUATION G: With R1 on second and R2 on first and one out, B4 hits a high fly to second base which could have been caught by F4. Neither umpire declares “infield fly.” F4 unintentionally drops the ball but picks it up and tags R2 who is off the base. RULING: The half-inning is over as R2’s out is the third out. The infield fly out for the second out holds even though it was not declared. The situation determines the out, not the declaration. The umpires should always declare “Infield Fly, If Fair” to lessen any confusion.

It seems that your umpires followed the NFHS caseplay, assuming the runner from third scored before the runner was tagged out.
Last edited by 3FingeredGlove
Wow, that's news. I've never heard of an IF being called after the play had long since been completed.

What would you do if you had the same type of play, but when the ball was dropped, runner from first is put out on a force play at 2nd but not tagged?

Would you go back and declare the batter out? Would the runner advancing to second then be declared safe on the grounds he wasn't tagged?

What I've seen done in the past is, the umpire gives a sheepish look when he realizes he should have yelled out the infield fly call. But he then shrugs his shoulders and moves on. I've never heard of trying to fix the mistake after the fact. Seems to me that opens up a whole other can of worms.

Add Reply

×
×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×