Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

im not an expert or anything but i think the key point in the article would be not if they throw the breaking ball, but if they are taught to throw it properly. I think if the mechanics are taught then a kid will be less likely to have an injury. I also believe if I had a little league kid i would teach him a 2 seamer , 4 seamer and a good straight change.
In our program that is the 1st thing we do with our freshman. We teach them a change -up and tell them if they want to throw for us they will need to throw this pitch for strikes before thwey can throw one pitch on the varsity.
Don't want to start an argument here, but how many parents let their kid throw a football as 10, 11, 12 year olds? Same GENERAL way a CB is thrown.

EDIT: It would be interesting to have a scientific breakdown of both a football player throwing a ball and a pitcher throwing a CB. I always felt that both of these were of the same general 'action'
Last edited by CubanLefty
ctiger, the study is pretty clear that the proliferation of breaking balls at younger ages is the culprit. It makes no distinction as to proper mechanics of the thrown breaking ball. So your assertion tha the point of the article is that if it is thrown properly or not is not even addressed. That is just your belief. It may or may not be true, but it doesn't change the results of Dr. Andrews study.

quote:
In our program that is the 1st thing we do with our freshman. We teach them a change -up and tell them if they want to throw for us they will need to throw this pitch for strikes before thwey can throw one pitch on the varsity.

My son would not have been able to pitch for you. He could not throw a quality change until his senior year. Some guys never learn the change-up very well and still pitch quite well.