Is it possible...

I can’t remember the exact rule or if it’s college or pro. But I believe their is consideration for granting a win on a judgement call when the starter doesn’t go five but he was effective. It comes up when five pitchers pitch an inning or two. 

Phanatic posted:
TPM posted:

If the pitcher is on a pitch count and discussed and agreed  prior to the start, yes it is possible.

interesting.  I know the pitcher was on a pitch count so that makes sense.  Thanks

You didnt mention that originally but that was the reason. Usually happens if pitcher is coming off of  rehab.

noumpere posted:

The NCAA rules book is available on-line for free.

 

3) By pre-arrangement, if three or more pitchers are to be used, the pitcher of
record shall be considered the winning pitcher.

Correct thanks for adding that in.

noumpere posted:The NCAA rules book is available on-line for free.

 3) By pre-arrangement, if three or more pitchers are to be used, the pitcher of
record shall be considered the winning pitcher.

That’s true, but it can’t be the starting pitcher unless he’s pitched a minimum of 4 innings, and then only in games of fewer than 8 innings.

Buckeye 2015 posted: Yep, if the pitcher is on a predetermined pitch count, they can get the win without going 5 innings.   Happened to my son last year.  I would assume it's typically northern teams in early season games who haven't thrown a lot due to the cold. 

 It’s not that I don’t believe you because there are always changes I don’t keep up with. I’m trying to get hold of a set of NCAA rules to read what it says because the 2016 rules have nothing on it.

Stats4Gnats posted:

noumpere posted: The NCAA rules book is available on-line for free….

 I used to be able to get it for free on the NCAA site but can’t now. Can you give me a link where I can get it for free?

 Thanx

 


 

 

 

google "ncaa baseball rules book" -- it's at ncaapublications dot com or similar.  d/l it in your favorite format (well, your favorite from the three they offer)

Stats4Gnats posted:

Buckeye 2015 posted: Yep, if the pitcher is on a predetermined pitch count, they can get the win without going 5 innings.   Happened to my son last year.  I would assume it's typically northern teams in early season games who haven't thrown a lot due to the cold. 

 It’s not that I don’t believe you because there are always changes I don’t keep up with. I’m trying to get hold of a set of NCAA rules to read what it says because the 2016 rules have nothing on it.

b� If the starting pitcher does not pitch enough innings, the win is credited to
a relief pitcher in the following manner:
1)
The winning relief pitcher shall be the one who is the pitcher of record
when his team goes ahead and remains ahead throughout the remainder
of the game� No pitcher may receive credit for a victory if the opposing
team ties the score or goes ahead after he has left the game�
rUle 10 / sCorIng
99
Note
: Whenever the score is tied, the game becomes a new contest insofar as the
winning and losing pitchers are concerned.
Exception—
If a relief pitcher conforms to the above regulations but
pitches briefly and ineffectively, the scorer should not credit him with a
win� If a succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively and helps maintain
the lead, the scorer should award the win to that succeeding pitcher
(2)
If his team maintains the lead throughout the game, and more than one
relief pitcher is used, the scorer shall award the win to the relief pitcher
that pitches most effectively, regardless of the number of innings pitched�
3)
By pre-arrangement, if three or more pitchers are to be used, the pitcher
of record shall be considered the winning pitcher
 
This covers both.....the starter not throwing the required innings....and the pre-arrangement requirement

Add Reply

Likes (0)
×
×
×
×