Player hits a home run out of park. In celebration at home, missed touching home plate, proceeds into dugout. Time out is called for coach to talk to pitcher.
After time out, pitcher puts ball back into play by stepping on rubber. Steps off and appeals to home with throw to catcher. Umpire calls runner out, no run.
Question: Once time out was called for defensive coach to talk with pitcher on mound, could runner who was in dugout by then, have any chance of coming back to tag home before appeal? Or did he give up that right when he entered dugout?