Skip to main content

Disclaimer:  I'm new to the world of pitching.

My 2017 has played baseball since age 3, but rarely pitched.  He's always loved to run so he played every position other than pitcher or catcher - a true utility player.  He started working with a baseball trainer a year ago to become stronger and to market himself as an outfielder for the purpose of making the high school team - and he did.

Over the summer, he played CF with a Junior Legion team which kept winning and ran out of pitchers during state regionals. So he was called upon to throw a few innings.  I snapped some photos and emailed them to his trainer who was impressed with his form and wanted to start working with him on pitching. So we all just sort of discovered he may have some natural movement and talent... we'll all know more by February, I'm sure.

Son has had 3 pitching lessons (just working through the movement much like the pitching lesson scenes from "Million Dollar Arm" - no ball involved) and his stride started at 6 feet.  At his second lesson, his stride was at 6.5 feet and his 3rd lesson last night had his stride just a few inches shy of 7 feet.

Son is 5'10" and 150... and this is clearly over 100% of his height.  I will say, he is all legs. 

I tried to search for info on stride here on the message boards and on Google, as well.  Does anyone have good info and/or thoughts about stride and pitching?  Or experiences with your own players - good or bad?  Or too long, even?  I found all kinds of info about lengthening the stride - but not much about stride over 100%.

Thanks!

Last edited by CAGIRL
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest