Skip to main content

OK, I did a "Find" but could not come up with the answer.

1 out, bases loaded (I think, but may have been 1st & 3rd) middle infield at normal dp depth, kid hits a routine ball to the SS who boots it.

1) If bases were loaded does the kid get an RBI?
2) If runners were at 1st and 3rd does the kid get an RBI?
3) Any RBI at all in that circumstance?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Here's what OBR states:

10.04(a) The official scorer shall credit the batter with a run batted in for every run that scores
(3) when, before two are out, an error is made on a play on which a runner from third base ordinarily would score.

Since you can't assume a double play, seems like this rule applies here (regardless of whether the bases were loaded or not.)
Last edited by RPD

Add Reply

Link copied to your clipboard.