Skip to main content

Man on second and third, less than two outs. Ball hit to center fielder, and he drops the ball, then both runners score. The scorekeeper decides that the run would have scored anyway. How is everything else handled? Is it 0-1 on the batter or a SAC? What about the runners- how many RBI? Just one right?

Baseball, it is said, is only a game. True. And the Grand Canyon is just a hole in Arizona. -George F. Will
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Coach May,
You are also technically right.

"10.08(d) Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that
(1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or
(2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer’s judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught."

Case 2 seems to apply.

Add Reply

Link copied to your clipboard.