Skip to main content

Im a HS coach and I kind of have the same issue, but with a pitcher. The Sophomore pitcher is showing his pitches on every single pitch. So I've been trying to get him to hide the ball a little more and extend his arm back further. But he tells me, "That's how my instructor wants me to do it." Im going to go to one of his private sessions just to observe to see if I can understand why he teaches that way.

As a coach it is my job to continue to learn. If I stop trying to learn myself then I'm in no position to teach.
Originally Posted by Coach_Sampson:
Im a HS coach and I kind of have the same issue, but with a pitcher. The Sophomore pitcher is showing his pitches on every single pitch. So I've been trying to get him to hide the ball a little more and extend his arm back further. But he tells me, "That's how my instructor wants me to do it." Im going to go to one of his private sessions just to observe to see if I can understand why he teaches that way.

As a coach it is my job to continue to learn. If I stop trying to learn myself then I'm in no position to teach.

Sounds like Pitching 101.  

Hopefully the kid's parents will get their money back.  

One point my son's HS coach mentioned to the pitchers I liked was that if you dig in your glove for one pitch then dig in your glove every pitch so as not to let the batter know what type of pitch is coming.  (See, I can compliment a coach. )

I also believe that some parent's that are paying for instructors automatically assume expertise.  

Having said all that if a HS coach isn't getting acceptance by a player on his method of baseball he has every right to sit the player on the bench.  This goes for my son also.