Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

quote:
Originally posted by Rob Kremer:
Research shows that 49.87% of HS baseball parents are consumed by statistics.

Other research has shown that statistics reveal 16.8% of the true story.

HS statistics don't mean a whole lot, 'cept for scrapbooks and all league teams I guess. Competition is too varied and too many agendas involved in how they're collected.
Last edited by justbaseball
I'm an engineer and math geek. I keep the scorebook, I compute the stats.

I score just about every game I attend. I'm continually shocked at what I see in high school box scores versus what I recorded. What's really fun is if you have a somewhat sloppy game played by two high schools who each have a home newspaper. Go online and compare the two box scores. More fun than a Simpson's episode.

The only times I've ever valued stats is during APSs (Angry Parent Sessions). When dad, or mom or (this actually happened) grandma starts giving you the business about playing time, being able to pull out the stat sheet and point to junior's .143 batting average or .456 fielding percentage at least gives you something to compare the .543 hitter with the .955 fielding percentage who replaced him.

Won't make them happy, but I've said more than once, "What would I tell the other kid's parent if he came and complained about not playing over your son? I got nothing. Get him some professional help and earn his way back in."

When used properly, stats are one of many data points...
They are meaningful to compare players, but only when they've been collected using some common criteria and with a large enough sample size.

Until you have about 100 plate appearances, the difference between a .260 and .300 hitter isn't statistically significant.

In MLB, you have a common collection criteria. Two different HS scorekeepers might not apply a common criteria or even score their hitters and defense the same. This makes statistics less valuable.