Another way to think about this is in the context of a little more frequent situation. Runner steals 2nd and reaches the base before the hitter fouls off the pitch. Can you imagine the runner not being sent back to 1st.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .