Friday night in a game that my 12 year old all-star team was playing in a call came up. I am wondering if I was right in my interpetation of the rule which did not go in my way cause the two umpires did not know the rule clearly nor could I find the rule.
The play goes like this...... My team had a runner on 3rd and 2nd. The batter hits a flyball deep in the outfield, the fielder catches the ball but my runner on third leaves a second to early and scores, my runner on 2nd tags up and is tagged out at home plate for the third out, inning over. My team takes the field and is warming up for the bottom half of the inning, when the coach for the other team comes out wanting to appeal my runner not tagging up at third after his team has left the field and clearly out of fair territory. I advise the coach and the umpire that the play can not be appealed due to them leaving fair territory but they insist you can still appeal the play until the next legal pitch is made.
In this situation was I right on saying there could be no appeal due to the defensive team leaving fair territory or was the other coach and umpire right for allowing the appeal due to the fact another legal pitch has not been thrown?