Skip to main content

I am a current college pitching coach that is VERY skeptical about the use of weighted baseballs.

In my own opinion....either a player loses velocity because it creates WAY too much stress on the arm or he gains velocity because he is on a throwing program, not because of the use of weighted baseballs.

Just like the reason some pitchers come back throwing harder after Tommy John surgery.... they throw harder because of the intense rehab and throwing program, not the surgery itself.

I would like anyone that has tried weighted baseballs to post a reply or pm me. (good or bad)

I believe that players waste way too much time working on MPH. They need to be taught and explained why they need to spend that time on accuracy and movement.

Mechanics and God given ability = MPH
A good throwing routine with long toss and bandwork = Healthy Arm
Accuracy and movement = a college/pro pitcher

Good or bad.... please post a reply or pm me if you have used weighted baseballs?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I must strongly suggest that you stay away from the weighted ball program. I went through the program briefly while in college and felt unusual shoulder stiffness, so I shut it down. I have also watched a few high school and college teammates go down to rotator-cuff surgery after going through the program. While, I can not say with certainty that the weighted ball was the cause of the problem, but I do not want to be the one to find out.

Also, as you previously stated, I agree strongly that the increase in velocity comes fom the throwing program itself, not the weighted ball. My personal velocity increase from a normal long-toss and strength program was equal to my peers that used the weighted balls.
Weighted baseballs breaks the principal of sports specificity. Tennis players don't hit tennis balls filled with pennies, it doesn't translate specifically to the skill performed.