Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

TO answer your question about speed.  Realistically, you can improve.  However, it will depend on training, genetics, mechanics, weighted ball and rotational elasticity of your fast twitch muscle. Building legs & running only help with fatigue and lower body stability.  Keeping your rotators cuff strong is critical to this matter.  All these training tools have to work together to increase velocity.  I am a former 1st rd Pro pitcher & current sport specific trainer @ xfactorsportstraining.com

Originally Posted by Kman9:

I am trying to figure out what some workouts for increasing pitching velocity. I have been working out the legs a lot ,but I am not impressed with my results. So is there a certain workout or aspect of the body that really helps build velocity.

Every kid is different: natural arm angle, genetics, physiology etc. I really like the Jeager Long Toss program but understand that what might be good for one kid might not be good for or injure another. My advice is to understand the basic concepts of strengthening, conditioning fast twitch muscles and use a program or aspects of multiple programs that work for your arm.

I think my dialogue disappeared by accident.  Fast twitch & Slow Twitch muscles are part of our muscle structure.  Without using too much jargon, we train to make them work together, at the right time and the right amount of force.  Here is a quote from research that has been done: "Fiber-type composition and the proportion of fast twitch fibers play an important role in power-speed related sports.  The higher the proportion of fast-twitch fibers, the quicker and more powerful the contraction"

(Jacobs, et al., l987 and Abernethy et al., l990).