Here's the situation - bases are clear and no outs. The batter hits a blooper to left field. The runner turns around first and heads for 2nd. The relay from left field is not fieled cleanly by the cut-off but takes a lucky bounce towards 2nd base. The 2nd basemen tracks down the ball and dives at the runners foot to attempt the tag. The runners foot is safely on base prior to the tag. However, the momentum of the diving defensive player forces the runners foot off the bag and the tag is maintained. What's the call - out or safe?
I am pretty confident the correct call was made but I found the situation interesting. I presented the situation to several other umpires and haven't come up with a straight answer yet. Give me your thoughts.