Skip to main content

It was the first day of school in our district today, and seems like every local parent I know on social media who has a Freshman or a Senior posted a photo of the kid getting off to school.

We talk more about recruiting, but this still is HS Baseball on the web, and coming to the site today I'm reminded of being a noob here when my kid was starting his HS career and not having any idea what it would bring. Would he make JV or Varsity?  Was he up to the challenge of good HS competition? Would his desire to play last all 4 years, and beyond to college?  How would he develop? Well, it's been fantastic seeing the answers to all those questions and many more unfold, and of course I'm looking forward to enjoying the last year.   And yes, I plan on trying to slow the clock down and enjoy this year in the moment, without worrying about the past or the future.

My kid seems to be on the same page - he told me he got a long text from one of his graduated friends who leaves for college tomorrow.  He said the friend told him to be sure soak it all in, enjoy every moment, and never be too tired or give himself any other excuse not to be there for a friend's game, a rally, a dance, or other school event. 

Anyway,  here beginning the final lap of both recruiting and high school ball, I want to say what a great help this site and all of the folks on it have been.  Thanks to all, even those who are gone and those I have disagreed with. This has been a fun and useful resource all along the way.  

Congrats to my fellow 2017 parents.  I hope you and your sons all have great years. And to you freshman parents, try to have fun and relax!   It'll be over before you know it.

Last edited by JCG
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest